Change the world

Geosciences

Head of Department
Dr Anton de Wit
Dr Anton de Wit
Position: Geograph Lecturer
Department: Geosciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: Anton.DeWit@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: DPhil
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/AntondeWit/

Geography academic staff
Prof Vincent  Kakembo
Prof Vincent Kakembo
Position: Professor, Geosciences Department
Department: Geosciences
Room: 0358
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4516
Fax: +27 41 504 2340
Email: Vincent.Kakembo@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Erosion forms, Hillslope hydrology, landscape function, land use and cover/vegetation change, GIS and remote sensing applications

Dr Nigel Webb
Dr Nigel Webb
Position: Geography Principal lecturer
Department: Geosciences
Room: 13 0354
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 5042028
Fax: 041 5042340
Email: Nigel.Webb@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/NigelWebb/

Dr Wilma  Britz
Dr Wilma Britz
Position: Lecturer
Department: Geosciences
Room: 130373
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504-2432
Email: Wilma.Britz@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD NMMU
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/WilmaBritz/

Ms Leizel Williams-Bruinders
Ms Leizel Williams-Bruinders
Position: Geography Lecturer
Department: Geosciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 (0)41 504 4361
Fax: +27 (0)41 504 1982
Email: Leizel.Williams@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MA (Geography)
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/LeizelWilliams/

GEOLOGY ACADEMIC STAFF
Ntonnelier
Dr. Nicolas Tonnelier
Position: Lecturer
Department: Geosciences
Room: 0257
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27415042028
Email: Nicolas.Tonnelier@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Igneous Petrology, Geochemistry, Magmatic Ore Deposits

Prof Moctar Doucouré
Prof Moctar Doucouré
Position: Associate-Professor
Department: Faculty of Science
Room: 13-0273
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4611
Email: Moctar.Doucoure@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Doctorate
Expertise: Geophysics
My site: http://www.aeon.org.za/

Callum Anderson
Mr Callum Anderson
Position: Geology Lecturer
Department: Geosciences
Room: 0352
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2811
Fax: +27 41 5041480
Email: callum.anderson@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc
Expertise: Geochemistry

Mr Gideon Brunsdon
Mr Gideon Brunsdon
Position: Geology Lecturer
Department: Geosciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: Gideon.Brunsdon@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc

Research Associates
Prof Peter Booth
Prof Peter Booth
Position: Professor Emeritus and Research Associate
Department: Geosciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2372
Email: peter.booth@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Groundwater, Structural geology
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/PeterBooth/

Prof Anthony (AJ) Christopher
Prof Anthony (AJ) Christopher
Position: Professor Emeritus and Research Associate
Department: Geosciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2355
Email: AJ.Christopher@mandela.ac.za
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/Anthony(AJ)Christopher/

Dr Peter Illgner
Dr Peter Illgner
Email: Pete-Illgner@telkomsa.net

Support staff
Zgoldman
Mrs Zelna Goldman
Position: Secretary Administrator
Department: Geosciences
Room: 0356 Building 13
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041-5042325
Email: zelna.goldman@mandela.ac.za

 Paul  Baldwin
Paul Baldwin
Position: Senior Technician
Department: Geosciences
Room: 0251
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2273
Email: gary.baldwin@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Diploma Tool @ Diemaker / Class 3 commercial diving supervisor.

 Willie Deysel
Mr Willie Deysel
Position: Technician
Department: Geosciences
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 082 665 4703
Email: willie.deysel@mandela.ac.za
Responsibilities: Athletics Club - Road Running: Vice Chairperson